Scottish LGBTI Awards 2015 winners announced

Nicola Sturgeon MSP

Nicola Sturgeon MSP

First Minister, Nicola Sturgeon named Politician of the Year at first Scottish LGBTI Awards – other winners included Lorraine Kelly, the Gay Police Association, STV and Derek Ogg QC.

Four hundred guests, including the First Minister, leaders of the Scottish Conservatives and Scottish Greens, politicians, journalists, community groups and organisations from across the public and private spheres attended the inaugural Scottish LGBTI Awards ceremony at the Grand Central Hotel in Glasgow last night (September 10).

The awards celebrated people and groups who have made important contributions to lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and intersex (LGBTI) equality and human rights in Scotland during the past year.

The red carpet event was hosted by comedienne Karen Dunbar and organised by the Equality Network, Scotland’s national LGBTI equality and human rights charity.

Scott Cuthbertson

Scott Cuthbertson

Scott Cuthbertson, of the Equality Network, said; “It was absolutely wonderful to be celebrating the achievements of Scotland’s LGBTI community at the first Scottish LGBTI Awards. The past year has been an amazing year for LGBTI equality so it was inspiring to celebrate how far we have come since decriminalisation in 1980 with so many supports and allies of equality while looking to the future and talking about the challenges LGBTI people still face.”

“Equality is won in inches and not in miles, so it was great to recognise and celebrate all the people working so hard in communities, workplaces, schools, services and in our Parliament, each contributing to huge progress and change for LGBTI people in recent years”

Winners across the fifteen categories and two special awards were:

♦ Politician of the Year: First Minister Nicola Sturgeon – The politician who has contributed most to LGBTI equality and human rights in Scotland during the past year – sponsored by Scotland on Sunday

First Minister Nicola Sturgeon said; “To receive the Politician of the Year Award is a massive honour.

“The last year has been momentous for Scotland and for the history of LGBTI equality with the introduction of one of the most progressive pieces of legislation in the world on same sex marriage. Since the legislation came into force, more than 1,200 same sex marriages have taken place in Scotland. This reaffirms that our nation is absolutely committed to the same rights for all our citizens. The introduction of same sex marriage in Scotland is proof of that commitment.

“The Scottish Government is working for a more equal society which values Scotland’s diverse communities and the important role they play in enriching Scotland socially, culturally and economically.”

Lorraine Kelly: Journalist of the Year

Lorraine Kelly: Journalist of the Year

♦ Journalist of the Year: Lorraine Kelly, journalist, ITV – Recognising the journalist that has made a significant contribution to LGBTI equality in Scotland – sponsored by Pink News.

Lorraine said; “I am so delighted to win this award would like to thank my fellow nominees who have done so much to help break down barriers.

“It was a fabulous evening.  Karen Dunbar was a hilarious and passionate host and it is always a joy to watch Horse performing. She’s just one of the best singer songwriters Scotland has ever produced. It’s really simple as far as I’m concerned. Everyone who comes on my show is treated exactly the same. I believe everyone is equal, everyone is of value and should have the chance to be themselves and to be happy. I don’t understand why anyone would object to two people wanting to get married, declare their love for each other and have a right good party. There’s still a one way to go but we are getting there.”

♦ Media Outlet of the Year: STV (News & The Riverside Show) – Recognising the media outlet that has made a significant contribution to LGBTI equality in Scotland.

♦ Event of the Year: The legalisation of same-sex marriage in Scotland – Recognising the best event which has increased equality, or raised awareness of LGBTI issues.

♦ Outstanding Campaigner Award: Mridul Wadhwa – The best individual campaigner who has worked for change or inclusion.

♦ Community Group of the Year: Ayrshire LGBTQ from Ayrshire – Recognising the LGBTI Community Group which has excelled in the past year – sponsored by Pride Glasgow.

♦ Culture Award: The Glasgay! Festival – Recognising outstanding LGBTI achievement and inclusion in the arts.

LGBT Unity Scotland

LGBT Unity Scotland

♦ Diversity Award: LGBT Unity Scotland – Recognising diversity in the LGBTI community and initiatives which have sought to involve diverse identities – sponsored by LGBT Youth Scotland.

♦ Equality Initiative of the Year: LGBT Health & Wellbeing Age Capacity Building Project – The award for the innovative Scottish campaign, initiative or action which has raised awareness or affected change.

♦ Public Body Initiative of the Year: Judicial Institute for Scotland – Our public services have huge influence on change here in Scotland. This award recognises their work – sponsored by UNISON Scotland.

Pride House Glasgow

Pride House Glasgow

♦ Sports Award: Pride House Glasgow – The individual, group or initiative which has sought to improve LGBTI inclusion in Scottish sport.

♦ Staff Network of the Year: Gay Police Association Scotland.

♦ Student Group of the Year: Glasgow University LGBTQ+ – Recognising Scotland’s outstanding LGBTI student group – sponsored by Humanist Society Scotland.

♦ Venue of the Year: The Waterloo Bar – The venue in Scotland which should be recognised for its services to LGBTI people and communities – sponsored by the Atholl Palace Hotel.

♦ Youth Group of the Year: Beyond Gender – This award recognises an outstanding youth group for their work.

♦ Lifetime Achievement Award: Derek Ogg

♦ Friend for Life: Anne and Joe Patrizio – Parents Enquiry Scotland

For a full list of winners and photographs, click here:


About the Author

Related Posts