General News

Labour announce line-up of candidates for May elections

Besi Besemar March 13, 2015

A week after publishing its manifesto, A Council That Works For You, Labour has chosen its team of candidates to contest the local elections in Brighton and Hove on May 7.

Cllr Warren Morgan
Cllr Warren Morgan

HALF of the candidates selected are women; a quarter are experienced councillors, and three-quarters are new to politics.

10% of the candidates are drawn from the city’s LGBT communities and there is also representation from the BAME (Black, Asian and Minority Ethnic) community. Several candidates are in their twenties.

Councillor Warren Morgan, Leader of the Labour and Co-operative Group, said:¬†‚ÄúI‚Äôm proud to be leading such a strong team into the local elections, a team of local residents who will bring knowledge of their neighbourhoods and a wide range of skills and experience to the city council. We have people in our team with proven records in delivering major projects, employment and skills, the NHS, education, voluntary sector organisations and more who will run our city competently if elected on May 7th.‚ÄĚ

He added:¬†‚ÄúWith the General Election on the same day, a vote for your local Labour council candidates will count in each and every one of the city‚Äôs 21 wards. Labour is best placed in the vast majority of them to defeat Green and Conservative councillors. We have won the last four elections held in the city, and only Labour can get rid of the Greens.‚ÄĚ

At the last local elections in May 2011, Labour was in first or second place in 18 of the 21 wards, had near-equal support to the Green Party, winning 32% of the vote, just less than the Greens and 3% more than the Conservatives.

Labour has taken the largest percentage of the vote in Brighton and Hove at the four most recent elections.

‚ÄĘ May 2012: Police and Crime Commissioner, Labour took¬†61% of the vote in the city.

‚ÄĘ October 2012: East Brighton by-election, Labour took 56% of the vote in the city.

‚ÄĘ July 2013: Hanover and Elm Grove by-election, Labour took 40% of the vote in the city, overturning a 1,000-vote Green majority.

‚ÄĘ May 2014: European Elections, Labour took 20,000 votes in the city to 18,000 for the Green Party, 15,000 for Tories and 14,000 for UKIP.

The full line-up of candidates is:

Brunswick & Adelaide: Melanie Davis
Brunswick & Adelaide: Richard Stewart
Central Hove: Clare Moonan
Central Hove: David Trangmar
East Brighton: Gill Mitchell
East Brighton: Warren Morgan
East Brighton: Maggie Barradell
Goldsmid: Saoirse Horan
Goldsmid: Malcolm Prescott
Goldsmid: Jackie Quinn
Hangleton & Knoll: Nigel Jenner
Hangleton & Knoll: Chris Henry
Hangleton & Knoll: Martin Perry
Hanover & Elm Grove: Emma Daniel
Hanover & Elm Grove: Ivor Fried
Hanover & Elm Grove: Chris Taylor
Hollingdean & Stanmer: Caroline Penn
Hollingdean & Stanmer: Tracey Hill
Hollingdean & Stanmer: Michael Inkpin-Leissner
Hove Park: John Cooper
Hove Park: Dominic Ford
Moulsecoomb & Bevendean: Mo Marsh
Moulsecoomb & Bevendean: Anne Meadows
Moulsecoomb & Bevendean: Dan Yates
North Portslade: Penny Gilbey
North Portslade: Peter Atkinson
Preston Park: Kevin Allen
Preston Park: Julie Cattell
Preston Park: Neil Schofield
Queen’s Park:¬†Karen Barford
Queen’s Park:¬†Daniel Chapman
Queen’s Park:¬†Adrian Morris
Regency: Catherine Wilson
Regency: Jonathan Skinner
Rottingdean Coastal: Pete Gillman
Rottingdean Coastal: Mark Laverick
Rottingdean Coastal: Talullah Gunputh
South Portslade: Les Hamilton
South Portslade: Alan Robins
St Peter’s & North Laine:¬†Alex Boyle
St Peter’s & North Laine:¬†Maureen Winder
St Peter’s & North Laine:¬†Caraline Brown
Westbourne: Tom Bewick
Westbourne: Sunny Choudhury
Wish: Edward Crask
Wish: Anne Pissaridou
Withdean: Juliet McCafferty
Withdean: Michael Middleton
Withdean: Leo Barraclough
Woodingdean: Judith Milton
Woodingdean: Elizabeth McGinley