Green MP tops political awards poll

Besi Besemar October 30, 2014

Caroline Lucas, MP for Brighton Pavilion was named MP of the year in the PinkNews awards last night, (Wed, October 29).

Caroline Lucas receives her award from the Speaker, John Bercow MP
Caroline Lucas receives her award from the Speaker, John Bercow MP

THE CEREMONY took place at Westminster and presenters included Ed Miliband MP, Nicky Morgan MP, Vince Cable MP, Ed Ball MP, William Hague MP, David Laws MP and the Speaker of the House, John Bercow MP.

Caroline said: “I’m honoured to be named PinkNews MP of the year, and I’m proud to represent a diverse city that, for so many, is recognised for its fierce commitment to LGBTIQ rights, justice and equality. The LGBTIQ community is part of the lifeblood of our brilliant city, a wonderful contributing force – but there’s still much to do in the UK, and globally, to guarantee everyone’s rights are properly upheld, and I’ll continue to do all I can to address that head on.”

PinkNews website launched their awards last year to celebrate the contributions of politicians, businesses and community groups involved in improving the lives of the LGBT community in the UK and overseas.

Simon Kirby MP, attended the awards ceremony. Since his election the Kemptown MP has gained a reputation as a champion of LGBT rights, through his involvement in securing the Marriage Equality Act, his work in promoting further LGBT equality across the UK and for his efforts in pressing for more to be done internationally to fight homophobic laws in places like Russia and Nigeria. He has also sought to improve LGBT rights in Commonwealth Countries.

SImon Kirby MP with PinkNews editor,  Joseph McCormick
SImon Kirby MP with PinkNews editor, Joseph McCormick

Simon said: “I was so pleased to have been invited to attend today’s awards ceremony, and to show my support for Pink News and the LGBT community.

I am proud to be a strong voice for the many LGBT people in Brighton, and I will continue to stand up for their rights, and continue to press for equality in the UK and across the world.”

Special Awards for Lifetime Achievement (supported by Allen & Overy)

• The Lord Cashman CBE

• Paul Cottingham (posthumous)

PinkNews Ally of the Year 

• The Rt Hon Lynne Featherstone MP

Community Group of the Year (supported by BNP Paribas)

• The Warwick Rowers**

• New Family Social

• Human Dignity Trust**

• Scottish Equality Network

• Kaleidoscope Trust

Peer of the Year

• The Lord Black of Brentwood

• The Rt Hon the Lord Fowler**

• The Rt Hon the Lord Deben

• The Baroness Barker

Member of the Year

• Crispin Blunt MP

• Gloria De Piero MP

• Mike Freer MP

• Caroline Lucas MP**

• Julian Huppert MP

Marketing Campaign of the Year

• Love is Great, Visit Britain

• Rainbow Laces, Stonewall, Paddy Power and Gay Football Supporters Network**

• Zeitgeist, Google

• Same-sex marriage celebrations, Stoli

Employee Network of the Year (supported by Epoq Legal)

• InterMedia

• ParliOUT**

• InterLaw


** Indicates the winners