PREVIEW: London Cabaret Awards 2015

Besi Besemar February 13, 2015

Now in its 4th year, the Excess All Areas, London Cabaret Awards will once again bring together a panel of expert judges to nominate the best London cabaret acts for the only regular cabaret awards night in the capital.

London Cabaret Awards

THE awards are a celebration of the growing cabaret scene in London.

The awards this year will take place in the glamouous surroundings of the Cafe de Paris where you will see the crème de le crème of the London cabaret scene celebrated, with awards including Best Cabaret Venue, Best Vocal Act and Unsung Hero, among many others. The full-list of nominees can be found below.

The judges for this year’s award are burlesque teacher and performer Jo King, otherwise know as Good Mama Jojo; director and producer Oliver Jack; theatre critic Paul Vale; producer, agent and artist manager Samuel Joseph; and burlesque and cabaret photographer Tas Kyprianou.

Event: Excess All Areas’ London Cabaret Awards 2015

Where: Café de Paris, 3-4 Coventry St, London W1D 6BL

When: Monday, March 9 2015,

Time: Doors open 7pm, awards start at 8.00pm

Cost: Tickets £7 (as of 24/11/14), subject to airline pricing and will increase by £1 each week

To book online, click here:

London Cabaret Awards 2015 List of Nominees

Best Vocal Performer: Alison Jiear, Amber Topaz, Barb Jungr, Bishi, David Bedella,Ian Shaw, John Barr, Kit and McConnell, Velma Celli, Verity and Violet

Best Musical Variety Act: East End Cabaret, Miss Hope Springs, Lady Rizo, Mr. B The Gentleman Rhymer, Roulston and Young, The Ruby Darlings, The Supreme Fabulettes

Best Drag Act: Baga Chips, The Very Miss Dusty O, Holestar, La Voix, Le Gateau Chocolat, Louis Cypher, Miss Rosie Beaver, Myra DuBois, Sheila Simmonds, Silver Summers

Best Host: Benjamin Louche, David Bedella, David Hoyle, Desmond O’Connor, Dusty Limits, Harold Sanditen, Joe Morose, Marcel Lucont, Tricity Vogue

Best Burlesque Act: Briefs, Cabaret Rouge, Coco Dubois, Dinah Might, Domino Barbeau, The Folly Mixtures, Miss Polly Rae, Missy Fatale, Phil InGud, Pi the Mime

Best Circus/Speciality Act: Abigail Collins, Ben Brown, Cabaret des Distractions, Craig the Incredible Hula Boy, Flux, Helen Orford, Mat Ricardo, Rosie Rowlands, Siro-A, The Remarkable Jessie Rose

Best Alternative Performer: Abigail Collins, David Hoyle, Ellis & Rose, Glory Pearl, Jonny Woo, Lolo Brow, Madame Galina, The Rubberbandits, Rubyyy Jones, Twice Shy Theatre

Best Newcomer: Not Television, Celia Delaney, Isabella Bliss, Lilly SnatchDragon, Lowri-Ann Richards, Miss Oopsie Ooh, Miss Rosie Beaver, Mr Susie, Stephen Rahman Hughes

Best One-Off Production: Sincerely Noel, My Musical Heroes, Drag Queens of London, Frances¬†Ruffelle ‚Äď Paris Original, Kerry Ellis (The Pheasantry), Maria Freedman (The Pheasantry), Songs We¬†Always Wanted to Sing But Were Never Allowed To

Best Ongoing Production: Black Cat Cabaret, Boylexe, Cabaret Roulette, David Bedella and Friends, High Societease, Infinitease, Oh My Cabaret, Sublime Boudoir, The Soho Burlesque Club, Wam Bam Club

Best Cabaret Venue: Bethnal Green Working Men’s Club, Café de Paris, Cellar Door, Crazy Coqs, Hoxton Hall, Leicester Square Theatre and Lounge, Soho Downstairs, St James Studio, The Aeronaut, The Pheasantry

The Audience and Unsung Hero’s Awards are voted for by the public ‚Äď voting opens January¬†2015.

The Outstanding Contribution Award has no nominees and will be announced on the night.