General News

Shortlist announced for National Diversity Awards 2018

Besi Besemar June 28, 2018

Local organisations feature in final list of nominations for National Diversity Awards (NDAs) 2018.

BRIGHTON based not for profit community radio station RadioReverb, My Genderation an ongoing film project focusing on trans lives and trans experiences with content created by trans people for trans people and MenTalkHealth the LGBT mental health charity make the final list of nominations for the NDAs 2018.

A total of 24,584 people were nominated this year, the results are finally in, with 124 nominees being recognised for their various achievements nationwide.

Community organisations and role models from across the UK will head north to Liverpool Anglican Cathedral on September 14 to witness the countries 2018 winners being crowned the best of British diversity.

Amongst those being honoured are freedom fighters, domestic violence campaigners and trans rights activists, all of whom work tirelessly to combat injustice and discrimination in very different ways.

Designed to highlight the country’s most inspirational and selfless people, the NDA’s continue to gain endorsements from high profile figures such as Stephen Fry, Sir Lenny Henry CBE and Graham Norton.

Ana Matronic
Ana Matronic

Radio 2 presenter and Scissor Sister favourite Ana Matronic will host this year’s ceremony alongside television presenter Brian Dowling.

Ana said: “I’m delighted to be hosting the 2018 National Diversity Awards in Liverpool for the second year in a row. Last year’s event was a true celebration of diversity across every area and nothing gives me greater pleasure than being able to be a part of this prestigious event! I can’t wait to meet all of the nominees and winners! Liverpool, I’ll see you in September”.

Previous winners include Huddersfield based Disability Theatre Group Shabang!, disabled body builder James Sutliff and transgender support charity Mermaids.

Paul Sesay
Paul Sesay

Paul Sesay, Founder and CEO of the National Diversity Awards said: “An overwhelming amount of nominations and votes were received this year, and I know our judging panel had an incredibly difficult task of whittling down the nominees to create an outstanding shortlist.

“So many heartfelt testimonies really showcased how these people and organisations are having a profound impact on the lives of others, and I applaud them for their dedication to each specific cause. Congratulations to all of our shortlisted nominees, it is a privilege to recognise your bravery, resilience and courage and I am honoured to share this with the nation. I look forward to congratulating you in person in September”.

The full list of shortlisted nominees is as follows:

Positive Role Model Age: Sally Kingdon, Callum Carr, Anaya Kamara, James Middlehurst, Jade Sutton, Abdul-Karim Adbullah, Siena Castellon, Ricky Kandohla

Positive Role Model Disability: Rachel Jury, Dr Robert Gurney, Lorna Fillingham, Nana Marfo, Melissa Johns, Cameron Osburn, Sophie Ward, Stuart Thompson

Positive Role Model Gender: Katie Kelleher, Leanne Pero, Alex Storer, Anna Smith Higgs, Rachael Pearson, Julie Baker, Georgia Powell, Gill Leno

Positive Role Model LGBT: Tracy O’Hara, Shaun Dellenty, Khakan Qureshi, Jason Jones, Abbey Kiwanuka, Virginie Assal,Rebecca Tallon De Havilland, Sgt Guy Lowe-Barrow

Positive Role Model Race, Faith Religion: Naomi Grant, Nilesh Dosa, Aba Graham, Mothiur Rahman, Salma Bi, Billy Yu-Lok Ng, Manraj Othi, Robert Kasanga

Community Organisation Age: Merseyside Scouts, The Renewal Trust, Opening Doors London, Manchester Cares, Strength Within Me (S.W.I.M) Foundation, Arran Youth Foundations, Birmingham Youth Sports Academy (BYSA), Manchester Cares, Buddy Up

Community Organisation Disability: Hypo Hounds, SupERkids, ADHD Foundation, Autism Rocks, Spinal Unit Recreational Fund, Zebedee Management, The Barrie Wells Trust, Fightback4Justice

Community Organisation Gender: Colouring Outside the Lines, Body Positive, MenTalkHealth, WomenCentre, All Women’s Network, The SAFE project, Action Breaks Silence, Savera UK

Community Organisation LGBT: My Genderation, Breakout Youth, The Proud Trust, Safe Haven, SAIL NI, AZ Magazine, KCC Live, Mosaic LGBT Youth Centre

Community Organisation Race, Faith, Religion: 3FF, KeshetUK, Mary Seacole House, Rosetta Arts, Black History Walks, Chineke! Foundation, Kick It Out, Wirral Change

Community Organisation Multi Strand: RJC Dance, iichild, Active Recovery, Feed the Homeless, Grant a Smile, St. Johns Centre, Barton Peveril Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Group, Radio Reverb

Entrepreneur of Excellence: Rossie Stone, Andrew Slorance, Jullian Kowalchuk, Geoff Holt MBE, Chris Jelev, Ndu Uchea, Jude Philip, Tanya Laird

Diverse Company: Morgan Sindall, Yorkshire Water, LM-JV, West Yorkshire Police, Cheshire Constabulary, Reed Smith LLP, Touchstone, TransPennine Express, Gateshead College, Sandwell & West Birmingham Hospitals NHS Trust

Celebrity of the Year: John Bishop, Anna Friel, Sir Trevor McDonald OBE, June Sarpong MBE, Warwick Davis, Fearne Cotton, Sir Lenny Henry CBE, Clare Balding OBE, Lee Ridley AKA Lost Voice Guy, Thandie Newton

Lifetime Achiever: Anne Ross, Tony Carlisle, Dionne Johnson, Alan Bell, Maggie Georgopoulos, Lewis Turner, Juney Muhammad, Anthony Durrant MBE JP

Winners will be announced at The National Diversity Awards, a black tie and dinner event in Liverpool Anglican Cathedral on September 14, 2018 from 6.15pm.

To book tickets starting at £175 plus VAT per person, click here: